Top Ten Contemporary Novels

Top Ten Tuesday is, as always, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s topic is TOP TEN CONTEMPORARY NOVELS

TTT Contemporary Novels

[Modern day, modern problems.]

I used to think contemporary novels were boring, all about internal changes within characters rather than “cool” stuff like survival or Voldemort. But I was very, very wrong. I’ve been on a contemporary kick lately as I’ve found my love within the genre. He are some of my favorites from the past three years.

Links go to my reviews of each.

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
I don’t just love the romance, but the overall emotional journey of Cath’s freshman year in college.

2. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
A dark contemporary that made me desperately want to go to boarding school in Australia!

3. Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty
The first Jessica Darling book, where were are introduced to this smart and sassy protagonist and bad boy Marcus Flutie.

4. Reality Boy by AS King
I had to include contemps with male protagonists, and I was fascinated by this novel’s take on a reality TV family with a lot of problems.

5. The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart
Ruby Oliver will always and forever be my favorite and I love her forever. She’s my book bff.

6. The Sea of Tranquility by 
My favorite romance, both incredibly realistic and heartbreaking, and beautiful from beginning to end.

7. Flat Out Love by Jessica Park
It had a similar feel to Sloppy Firsts, but I liked that this romance is new adult without being annoying.

8. Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian
A brilliant debut novel about a boy with a tendency toward sex and violence, and his journey to heal the broken parts of himself.

9. Looking for Alaska by John Green 
John Green’s first, and best. Y’all may love TFioS, but Alaska’s Pudge Halter stole my heart.

10. Bunheads by Sophie Flack
Ballet books for the win.

What is your favorite contemporary novel?

15 responses to “Top Ten Contemporary Novels

    • Jellicoe Road was awesome, and having never read a YA set in Australia or by an Australian author, that was also awesome for me. There were certain words or phrases that would throw me off because I’d never heard them before, and I loved that! Great book overall.

  1. As much as I love Jellicoe Road, it’s kind of a hit or miss. I have an English teacher who loves YA but she couldn’t finish the book because it was too confusing and that made me sad because I thought it was amazing.

  2. I was glad to see a John Green book on your list. I haven’t read Looking for Alaska yet, but I loved The Fault in Our Stars and I’ve been told all his other books are equally as compelling. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I’m happy to see that you think Looking for Alaska is John Green’s best book. I loved it! However, the back-cover summaries on his other books haven’t convinced me to read any of them. I know that everyone seems to love TFioS (it’s even reached acronym status!), but it sounds too cliche to me.

  4. I love everything about Fangirl. I love the romance, of course, but I also love reading about Cath and how she adjusts to all the changes in her life.

    Also, I loved The Boyfriend List, too. So much of what happened to Ruby Oliver were similar to my experiences in highschool.

  5. I really love John Green (even before he did TFioS) and have heard such good things about Reality Boy!

    My favourite YA contemporary from the last few years (although it’s a bit older) was “Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist” – I read it over a cold afternoon without expecting anything at all, and while it was a bit “set-up”, I thought it was lovely and had such a genuine feeling of being a teen.

  6. I’m not a massive ‘contemporary’ fan. At least, I don’t claim to be. Lately I’ve been pushing myself to read more in this way, but I just won’t be parted with my love of fantasy… Heh.

    Many of these are on my TBR list TBF. (to be fair. Heh. funny? No? Ok)

    I’ll break myself into Contemporary slowly.. and make myself a convert.

  7. Love this list. I’ve read and loved everything on it except for Sloppy Firsts, Bunheads and Reality Boy. Need to read those this year!

  8. I love Looking for Alaska by John Green, he’s such a good writer! I’ve also read The Fault in Our Stars 3 times. The next book I’m going to read will probably be Jellicoe Road or The Sea of Tranquility.

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

