2013 Reading Challenges: Success!

I took on three challenges in 2013, and I set my personal “reading year” from December 20, 2012 – December 20, 2013. I do this because I like to write up my end-of-year posts over the holiday while also using the holiday to jump start the next reading year. Mentally, I equate the end of fall semester with the end of the year. 

Here’s the breakdown of what I accomplished in 2013:

2013 reading challenge

Challenge: The 2013 Reading Challenge

Host: Goodreads

Level: 80 Books

Progress: 90/80 OR 83/80. COMPLETED.

I met AND exceeded my reading goals for the year! The Goodreads count is off form my official count because of the 12/20 start date. This year I’m going to hold my late December reads until January to put in Goodreads so their count will match my own. Anyways, you can see the full list from my official count, complete with links to reviews, here.


debut author challenge

Challenge: The 2013 Debut Author Challenge

Host: Hobbitsies

Level: 12 books

Progress: 12 books. COMPLETED.

I finished book number 12 literally at the 11th hour, but I did manage to read twelve debuts this year.

Books:

1. Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black
2. Being Henry David by Cal Armistead
3. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
4. Pivot Point by Kasie West
5. Taken by Erin Bowman
6. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
7. In The After by Demitria Lunetta
8. Rush by Eve Silver
9. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
10. The Holders by Julianne Scott
11. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
12. The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth LaBan


feminist reads challenge

Challenge: 2013 Feminist Reads Challenge

Host: The Hiding Spot

Level: Hard (10+ books)

Progress: 30+. I’m an overachiever and lost track in November.

What I love most about this challenge is that I get to define what a feminist book is. This may mean different things to different people, but the point is that we are seeking to read books with amazing female protagonists

Books:

1. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson
2. The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
3. Requiem by Lauren Oliver
4. A Million Suns by Beth Revis
5. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
6. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
7. Changeling by Philippa Gregory
8. Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger
9. Now I’ll Tell You Everything (Alice #25) by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
10. The Elite by Kiera Cass
11. Invisibility by David Levithan and Andrea Cremer
12. Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher
13. I Am J by Cris Beam
14. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
15. In The After by Demitria Lunetta
16. Losing It (short story collection) edited by Keith Gray
17. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis
18. Dragonslippers; This is What An Abusive Relationship Looks Like by Rosalind B. Penfold
19. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
20. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
21. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
22. Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple
23. The Cute Girl Network by MK Reed
24. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan <— dude novel, but it challenges the patriarchy and has a great trans character.
25. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
26. Saints by Gene Luen Yang
27. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
28. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
29. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by AS King
30. Pawn by Aimee Carter
31. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
32. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Did you meet your 2013 reading goals?

15 responses to “2013 Reading Challenges: Success!

  1. Wow….what a neat idea for the benefits of blogging… I just may copy you on that for next year. I didn’t have any reading goals this year other than read when I can. This year I’m finally making reading a writing a priority in my life again. I’ll be posting my New Year’s Resolutions on the first…a lot of which will include reading goals!

  2. You rocked the reading challenges this year! I’m really tempted by the feminist reads challenge. If only I didn’t suck at challenges! Happy 2014 reading :)

  3. AWESOME! Great job. : ) I’m going to copy down a few of those books from The Feminist Challenge…I didn’t even know that existed. I also didn’t know David Leviathan wrote a book with another female author. YES.

    PS. I read both of those Rainbow Rowell books as well. I’m OBSESSED with her.

  4. I’ve been craving to do something like this but I’ve been holding off. Since January is so close. But good job!!! I might just copy you and do this on Goodreads!!!

  5. Kudos to you, Tara! Alas, I don’t believe I will finish my reading challenges. There are still a few more days in the year, so I’ll probably be close. You’re an inspiration!

  6. Brilliant work achieving your goals! I hope I do as well in 2014. I’ve also set myself some (very modest) reading goals and have decided to document them. I need to get the mind a bit more active as it appears to be turning to Swiss Cheese :) All the best for 2014.

  7. You can edit the Time finished date on Goodreads to 01.01.2013 for the books read after the 20th of December 2012. :) Then they’lll count for this years challenge.

  8. Pingback: 2013 End Of Year Book Superlatives | The Librarian Who Doesn't Say "Shhh"·

  9. Hi I am a high school student with a resolution this year to blog veryday. It seems that you do that and I would love some advice on how I can do the same.

    You are amazing!

    -Katebah

    • Thank you for the kind words! I would suggest three things:

      1. Don’t start with blogging every day. Shoot for 3-4 times a week to start building the habit.

      2. Learn how to schedule posts in WordPress. I’ll write 5-6 posts in one afternoon and schedule them to post at future dates.

      3. Come up with a regular posting schedule. For example, I post reviews on Mondays and Thursday, Top Ten Tuesday, I post about graduate school on Wednesday, and book quotes on Fridays. Memes are a great way of doing this, but be careful to do more than just memes!

      Hope that helps, and good luck with blogging in 2014!

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

