Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is, as always, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

TTT new authors 2013

[additions to my auto-buy list, for sure]

Details on my reasoning for each:

Links go to my review of each book, or Goodreads if the review has yet to be published.

1. AS King
Author of Please Ignore Vera Dietz and Reality Boy.
I really enjoyed the way at AS King gives hope to her characters in crappy family situations and while dealing with all the junk life can throw at teenagers. Her use of magical realism/daydreams is unique. I’ve got Everybody Sees the Ants and Ask The Passengers at home, ready to go.

2. Elizabeth Wein
Author of Rose Under Fire.
I loved every second of Rose, and I hear Code Name Verity is just as good. Wein’s genre is WWII historical fiction, and I felt she brought a fresh dose of well-rounded female characters to the table.

3. Rainbow Rowell
Author of Eleanor & Park and Fangirl.
Do I even need say anything here? Rowell’s character are authentic and this woman really remembers the emotions of first love and growing up.

4. John Corey Whaley
Author of Where Things Come Back and the forthcoming Noggin.
Whaley can weave a story from seemingly unrelated threads, with a dash of humor.

5. Gail Carriger
Author of Etiquette & Espionage and Curtsies & Conspiracies.
Carriger’s language and steampunk setting makes the Finishing School series a fun ride.

6. Benjamin Alire Saenz
Author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.
One of my favorite books of 2013, hands down. And even better after I got to hear him (and Rowell, and King) speak at the ALAN conference this year.

7. Melina Marchetta
Author of Jellicoe Road.
An emotional, and emotionally satisfying, story. I will be reading more from Marchetta, as she’s a pretty big name in YA.

8. George RR Martin
Author of A Game of Thrones.
Okay, I do have to give him credit for writing a pretty amazing book. I won’t be flying through the series, but I do plan to return to it over the next few years.

9. Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Authors of These Broken Stars.
Since they co-authored the book and I haven’t read any of their independent work, I pair them for #9. They made my little heart pound with the tension and mystery of their novel!

10. Diane Ravich
Author of Reign of Error.
Diane, I agree with your views on education and I will be reading more of your nonfiction books (probably as audiobooks)

Which new authors did you discover this year?

11 responses to “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

  1. You read so many awesome authors this year! I’ll have to check out the Finishing School series. A.S. King is amazing. You’ll love Ask the Passengers.

  2. I have Rowell’s Attachments sitting on my bookcase and I can’t wait to see what she is like an an author- I also have Code Name Verity on my TBR and I’m excited to finally get around to that series of books next year!

  3. Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park is sitting at the top of my to read pile, she’s been on so many lists today, need to hurry up and try her books! great list

  4. Ask the Passengers and Everybody Sees the Ants are amazing, as is Code Name Verity. Just schedule yourself a nice chunk of time for each, because you wont be able to tear yourself away. :)

  5. Your blackboard type creation to display your author’s is so amazing! How did you do that?? (Sorry this was off the author topic…)

  6. Reblogged this on Kathryn Slade and commented:
    Since I have started using WordPress the blogs of “The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say “Shhh” have always caught my attention. Her post and blogs are always captivating and i love the blackboard layout and font used at the top of this page! I am always trying to find new authors to read and finding knowledgable bloggers with similar interest in reading to my own is great. I haven’t read that much this year, which I’m disappointed about but I am starting my new years resolutions by ordering a Rainbow Rowell book to set me off for a book filled 2014.

  7. Oooh yay! So amyn wonderful authors on your list. I’m so glad I picked up A Song of Ice and Fire this year! I was so intimidated by those books but I am LOVING the world and how elaborate all of the characters/plot/lands are!
    Of course I love Rainbow Rowell. She is just fantastic.
    I can’t wait to read These Broken Stars. I’ve heard nothing but good things!

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

